Ask Riot

Ask a question about League or Riot, and we’ll try to answer it. Answers go live every other Thursday at 1:30 pm (PT)

What do you want to know?

Something went wrong. Try asking again.

Thank you for submitting a question!

Next Article

2020 LoL Esports Season Begins Jan 13th

The 2020 League of Legends Season begins on January 13th with the LPL kick off match between the 2019 World Champions, FunPlus Phoenix, and the 2018 World Champions, Invictus Gaming.

The 2020 competitive League of Legends season is almost here! On January 13th, the 2019 World Champions, FunPlus Phoenix, will take on the 2018 World Champions, Invictus Gaming, in the opening match of the LPL Spring Split. The two most recent World Champions have an incredibly close competitive record with IG winning eight of their past games while FPX has won seven. Heading into this year, FunPlus Phoenix will field the World Championship roster from 2019 while Invictus Gaming will see the debut of a new lineup featuring AD Carry Puff. Catch all the action on January 13th on at 1 AM PT // 4 AM ET // 5 PM CST.

Following this match, more than 100 teams across 12 regional leagues will begin their chase for the Summoner’s Cup and the title of World Champion. Check below to find out when each regional league will begin.

After competition begins in January, teams from each of the 12 leagues will compete in seasonal splits, the first from January to May, the second from June to September. Teams that win the first split will qualify for the 2020 Mid-Season Invitational, an international tournament taking place in May that features the best teams from each regional league. Top teams from the second split will qualify for the 2020 World Championship which will take place this fall in China.

All matches will be available for viewing on and you can follow the action on social media on the official LoLEsports Twitter, Instagram, and Facebook accounts. 

Next Article

LCS Tickets